Wake Up!

Welcome to my new blog on emergency veterinary medicine.  The aim of this blog is to write for you, the pet owner, and help to provide a little more information about the emergency conditions your pet may face or be facing.  I am fully aware that in times of crisis, only half of the information your vet tells you, sometimes less, will actually be comprehended. It can be hard to concentrate when under emotional stress from seeing a loved one unwell and potentially in a critical condition.  I hope that my blog may help to fill some of the gaps in understanding so that you may be prepared for the discussions your vet may have with you throughout the course of your pet’s treatment.  I will try to clearly explain the expected course of events in treating your pet’s condition, why complications may occur and why outcomes can change from one minute to the next.  From time to time, I may also broach the topic of costs as well, but keep in mind this will differ from practice to practice.

I also wish to emphasise that these posts are written from my own personal experience in veterinary practice with particular reference to the practice I currently work in.  You may find your local emergency veterinarian has more or less experience than myself and may work in a better or less well equipped clinic than I.  Some of these vets will be in the unfortunate position of having to work all day and then perform on-call duties overnight.  This is likely to result in differences of opinions and outcomes, and very likely differences in costs.  We all try to do the best job we can with what we have available, and I welcome any constructive comments from other emergency vets, and of course from pet owners.

In this first post, I also provide a disclaimer in that I will not accept responsibility for any morbidity or mortality that occurs as a result of the information provided in the pages herein.  This blog is intended to inform the reader and should not be relied on in lieu of direct veterinary advice.  The written word can never be a replacement for a face to face veterinary consultation and without seeing a patient, it is very difficult for a veterinarian to provide reliable advice for your pet.  I urge anyone who is concerned about their pet’s health to seek a veterinary consultation promptly.

I hope that you will enjoy reading my blog and learn a little about the emergencies that may occur with your pet and why some of us are crazy enough to stay up all night to look after them.

Leave a Reply

